A Letter To My Little Sister

Childhood.

The place of change.

The place of acceptance.

The place of rejection.

 

People will make fun of you,

They are insecure.

People will call you names,

But they don’t feel perfect themselves.

People will call out your weaknesses.

They are just trying to hide their own.

 

People may do things,

They may or may not know they did it,

But the worst thing you can do is let it eat you alive.

 

People may forget things,

They may not know they did it,

But the worst thing you can do is hold them to it.

 

People may say things,

They may or may not know they did it,

But the worst you can do is listen to the lies.

 

People may take your courage,

But don’t think it’s bad to steal it back.

People may tear you down,

But don’t think you can’t be build back up.

People may try to make you stumble,

But don’t forget that you have hope.

 

People won’t always understand,

That’s okay because you tried.

People won’t always seem to care,

But it’s their loss.

People you think you will be close with forever,

You may not know their address in a few years.

 

“Never lose sight of your first love,”

Mom would often say,

And she’s right.

 

God won’t leave you,

He knows what you are capable of.

God won’t forsaken you,

His love is mightier than you think.

God will stand by you,

Even when it doesn’t feel like it.

 

Why?

Because he loves you.

 

You have many years ahead of you,

And many people to meet.

You have many adventures to go on,

And many stories to share.

You have many trials ahead of you,

But they will only make you stronger.

 

Use your life as a testimony.

Use your life as a light.

Use your life for what you are created to do.

 

Don’t let people stop you from doing what’s right.

Don’t let people stand in your way.

Don’t let the mean people of today effect you of tomorrow.

 

Respect those who have knowledge,

And be a leader when there’s a need.

 

Don’t forget who you are,

Don’t forget what you are capable of,

And don’t forget who God has called you to be.

 

In the next few years,

Hard times will come,

Changes will happen,

People will come and go,

But don’t forget your first love.

The love who won’t leave you,

Who loves you,

And the only one who can truly fulfill you.

 

Make the best of everyday,

Don’t forget to smile,

Don’t forget to sing little song,

And don’t forget to grab joy,

 

Grab the Joy,

from the only source that can fulfill you.

 

You are loved my dear,

You are not forgotten,

You are strong,

And you are God’s.

 

 

 

1 John 4:19 “We love because he first loved us.”

 

 

Psalm 139:13-14 “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”

 

Psalm 18:1-3 “I love you, LORD, my strength. The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. I called to the LORD, who is worthy of praise, and I have been saved from my enemies.”

 

Leave a Reply

