God, Show Me.

You’re life is yours. But is it really? Yeah you have the God-given gift of free-will, but is it really better that way? You know, to live how you want to?

I recently started a 60 day Bible plan with my friends. I knew I couldn’t do it alone so I needed people to keep me accountable. After I finished my fist day, I got this sense of Joy. I read God’s word every night. Lately it has been less than normal and I could feel the difference.

When I decided to give my life to Christ, I was no longer my own but God’s. I no longer was in chains but was set free by the grace of God.

When I started reading, the Bible, it was a comfort, but a few times it became like a chore. It’s a habit, but wasn’t feeling like a relationship. It felt more like something I had to do. But one prayer has changed how I view it.

Years ago, my youth pastor said something along the lines of “before you read God’s word, say ‘Lord, please show me something today'” Every time I have said that, I’ve noticed something I haven’t seen before or I see it in a new light. These stories aren’t seen as just stories, but become part of my life. The are comfort, lessons, peace, love and more become a longing and a cry of my heart to learn more about God. Because of God’s willingness to speak to me, I am able to experience him in a new light.

But why is this able to happen? Because when you say “Lord, speak to me” you are opening up your eyes to see and your ears to hear from God. It’s hard for God to speak to you if you are not willing to open up and listen.The thing about being Christian is, once you say “I follow you” it becomes a journey. Life doesn’t change all of a sudden. It doesn’t get easier. It just keeps going. That’s when you take the “I follow you” into action. Being a Christian is being God’s hands and feet. People are watching and they will tear you down but are you really ready to take who you have become into action? Find people who are on the journey with you and keep each other accountable to grow. Find a time to sit down in the presence of God and dig into his word. Ask him to show you something new and take action from it. God’s presence is one of the best feelings in the world and to take advantage and listen to God is a great reward and gift. You don’t want to just believe in Jesus, but the best part about being a Christian is experiencing God himself.

So next time you open up your Bible, say this little prayer, open your heart and be prepared for God’s presence.

 

“15 “If you love Me, keep My commandments. 16 And I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever— 17 the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him; but you know Him, for He dwells with you and will be in you. 18 I will not leave you orphans; I will come to you.” -John 14:15-18

“18 “If the world hates you, you know that it hated Me before it hated you.19 If you were of the world, the world would love its own. Yet because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you.” -John 15:18-19

“7 “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened.” -Matthew 7:7-8

Leave a Reply

