I’m Ugly…?

When I was younger, my mom told me to stop saying “I’m ugly.” It wasn’t a nice “don’t say that.” It was a mad “don’t ever say that again or your grounded” type of thing. For a while I just thought it was something a mom would typically say and I thought she was just saying it because I ignored her or because I just thought that she thought more of me. Little did I know, there was a real and deeper reason to the meaning.

The phrase “I’m ugly” implies you don’t like how you look. It states you believe that you aren’t beautiful. But really you are comparing yourself to someone who looks nothing like you. And because you compare yourself and physically can’t change how you look… you assume “I’m ugly.”

If you have ever read any of my other blogs, you are  aware that you are beautiful. But, you might only think you are from God’s eyes. Not a terrible thing, but you need to be able to see it for yourself.

When you say “I’m ugly,” it’s like a slap in the face to God. He didn’t design you to look like the next person over. He didn’t design you to look like everyone else. He designed you to be you. I know I may sound like a broken record, but beauty shouldn’t be decided by the world’s point of view. Beauty should be decided by the heart of God. Once you believe you are beautiful, you start to stand taller, you begin to do things you enjoy.. instead of what others want you to do. You stop dressing for others but start dressing for yourself. You stop comparing yourself to others and start believing that you are beautiful.

“I’m ugly” starts when you compare yourself. You can get all doll-ed up and think “wow I look good” but then look at someone else and think “okay, never-mind, I’m ugly.” Why does this happen? Because you are comparing yourself. It’s perspective.

Did you know some of the most beautiful people who I know don’t look like magazine models? It’s all how they carry themselves. How they carry themselves, the way they see life, the way to approach situations and the ability to not let the world tear them down. No matter how you look, you will never stop comparing yourself. I’m sure even the magazine models aren’t completely satisfied with themselves. You could have your dream body but look, but then find something about yourself that you see as a flaw. Why? because we are human and we are full of “flaws.” You know what’s funny about that word? Google describes it as “a mark, fault, or other imperfection that mars a substance or object.” Just because something is imperfect, we automatically think it’s wrong. When we think it’s wrong, we want to change it. Beauty kicks in when you have the ability to see past your flaws and focus on the perfection of who you are. As soon as you open your eyes to see the beauty you not only get rid of the world’s view on yourself but you get a new perspective on others.

Honestly, what is the perfect form of beauty? You can’t quite answer it because the world’s view on beauty is photo-shopped. That’s why it is so important to not look at how the world views beauty because it doesn’t line up with what God says about beauty.

Did you know the more you speak something, the more believe it? I personally tested this out over the years. I noticed the more I looked at myself and said “I’m beautiful” the more I believed it. But as soon as I said “I’m ugly” I automatically felt sorry for myself and believed that  “I am ugly.”

Hear me out, the world’s view of beauty may seem reachable, but it’s not. It’s the truth because their definition of beauty is unreachable. They say the only was to achieve it is to change everything about yourself. Do you see why it’s dangerous to go by the world’s standard. You won’t ever be satisfied. If the word is where you are looking for your affirmations, you need to change your focus. The devil is good at making us believe we can’t ever achieve beauty. But God only makes masterpieces.

Here’s one way to look at it… Imagine if the sunset said, “I’m ugly.” But, it only said that  because it saw the sunset from the other night. That sunset yesterday was orange but the one today is pink and purple. Just because it’s different don’t mean it’s ugly. It’s still beautiful but in its own way.

So next time you want to look in the mirror and have an urge to say “I’m ugly,” stop and say “I’m beautiful” because the more you tell yourself, the more you will begin to believe it.

 

“Who can find a virtuous wife?
For her worth is far above rubies.” Proverbs 31:10

“Charm is deceitful and beauty is passing,
But a woman who fears the Lord, she shall be praised.
Give her of the fruit of her hands,
And let her own works praise her in the gates.” Proverbs 31:30-31

 

Leave a Reply

