What Psalm 138 Showed Me…

What I’m about to show you, has recently touched my heart. Therefore, I can’t help but share it with you. First, let’s look at the beginning of Psalm 138.

“I give you thanks, O Lord, with my whole heart;
    before the gods I sing your praise;
I bow down toward your holy temple
    and give thanks to your name for your steadfast love and your faithfulness,
    for you have exalted above all things
    your name and your word.
On the day I called, you answered me;
    my strength of soul you increased.

All the kings of the earth shall give you thanks, O Lord,
    for they have heard the words of your mouth,
and they shall sing of the ways of the Lord,
    for great is the glory of the Lord.
For though the Lord is high, he regards the lowly,
    but the haughty he knows from afar.” – Psalm 138: 1-6

These verses are a great reminder of how important it is to give thanks to God. God has done so much for you, if you believe or see it or not, he has. So before you even begin to talk to him, you should say thanks. Give thanks for who he is. God cares about us. He cares about you. Whenever you call on him, he will answer and give you strength. He’s always there for you and won’t forsake you.

“Though I walk in the midst of trouble,
    you preserve my life;
you stretch out your hand against the wrath of my enemies,
    and your right hand delivers me.
The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me;
    your steadfast love, O Lord, endures forever.
    Do not forsake the work of your hands.”- Psalm 138:7-8

This is my favorite part of this chapter and I’m going to break it down on how God spoke, to me, through it. “Though I walk in the midst of trouble, you preserve my life (vs.7a)”. God is protection and will keep you. He will guide your steps, as long as you are willing to ask and listen to his instruction. When you ask God to answer something, it’s a good idea to listen because he knows what is best for us with our every step. With every situation, if we ask God what his option is, and follow through with it, we are saying “God, I put this situation in your hands and, Lord, I trust your option that it is true and the possible best for me.” We have to be careful not to ignore God. We often ignore him when he says something that we don’t typically like. When we get an answer that we don’t like, we tend to keep asking but he keeps giving the same answer. It is important to be obedient by listening the first time because he truly knows what’s best for us. Not only that, but he knows out future. Jeremiah 29:11 states “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.” God really does care and really does want what’s best for you.

Back to Psalm 138, “You stretch out your hand against the wrath of my enemies, and your right hand delivers me (vs.7b)”. The word “hand” hit me hard. Here’s why. It’s protection. His hand protects us against our enemies. But what does that really mean? I picture his giant hand scooping down and picking us up and taking us to safety, peace and comfort. That’s who he is right? Earlier we talked about how he will answer our call and give us strength, but now Psalm’s saying how he does actually accomplishes and delivers us. He does it through love, peace and comfort. If we trust and lean on him, he will build us up and gives us strength and protection.

Verse 8a states “The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me;” The fact that God says he has a purpose for us, means he isn’t done with us. He wants to continue using us in ways that we aren’t, yet, aware of. Everyone’s purpose is a little different and God will use everyone in a different way. So stop comparing how God is using someone else, on how he’s using them, to how God is using you. Step out in Faith. He wants you to do and he will fulfill that purpose. We spend too much time wanting other people’s purpose, but we don’t spend enough time asking God for the next steps in our own God-given purpose. Instead of asking God “why aren’t you using me the way you are using them” say  “God, show me the next steps to your purpose for my life. Show me ways you can use the talents and gifts, you have given me, for your glory.”

God’s love for us is conditional. Verse 8b states “your steadfast love, O Lord, endures forever. Do not forsake the work of your hand.” If this doesn’t make you feel loved, I don’t know what will.  God’s love for us provides protection and will help guide us towards our purpose. But being loved is just the beginning of it. The fact that God gave his son to defeat death is unbelievable love. Love we can’t fully concept because it’s so great. We don’t stop enough to thank God for loving and guiding us. Don’t you think God should get some thanks? Even if it is just a “Thank you God for who you are. You are good to me.” Because of God’s love for us, if we stay by his side and trust him, he won’t “forsake the work of  (vs.8b)” his hand.

God loves you and truly wants the best for you. He won’t just leave you like people will. He won’t just stop loving you like people will. He won’t just leave you in the dust like people will. Hebrews 13:8 states, “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.” He is one that is stable and never-changing. He loves and cares for you now and always will. If you want to feel this kind of love, ask God for it. Ask him to show you his love. Ask him to bring you comfort. And trust in him with all your might, ever if the world is spinning. For God is your solid rock and won’t ever leave you. Do you trust God to bring love and comfort into your life or are you holding back from all that he wants to bless you with?

 

One thought on “What Psalm 138 Showed Me…

Leave a Reply

